For all the projects for which the clinical trials are required, clearance is accorded by Clinical Ethical Committee of the Centre for proceeding with the human clinical trials.

The following are the Members:
1. Prof. Dr. G. P. Dubey, Chairman, Ethical Committee, CARISM, SASTRA
2. Shri. S. Vaidyasubramanian, Dean, Planning & Development, SASTRA
3. Dr. G. Baskaran, Professor & Director of Philosophy, Tamil University,
   Thanjavur (Member)
4. Dr. N. Punniamoorthy, Professor & Head, Veterinary Training Center,
   Thanjavur (Member)
5. Dr. R. Elangovan, Professor of Neuro Surgery, Thanjavur Medical College,
   Thanjavur (Member)
6. Dr. A. Jaswanth, Assistant Professor Periyar College of Pharmacy, Trichy
7. Mr. R. Giridharan, General Law Practitioner, Thanjavur
8. Dr. Mrs. Cecilia Pandian , Head, Department of Zoology, Kunthavai Natchiyar
   Govt. Arts College for Women (Member)
9. Dr. A. Hannah Rachel Vasanthi, Visiting faculty, SASTRA (Member)
10. Dr. Eugene Wilson, Senior Lecturer, CARISM (Member)
11. Dr. G. Victor Rajamanickam, Member Secretary, Ethical Committee, Dean,

So far, twice on 19th January 2005 and 20th May 2005, the Meeting has been conducted.

 Institutional Ethical Committee Meeting
at the Centre held on 19.01.05

Monitoring Committee
The Centre is monitored by Experts Committee, which is not only monitoring the progress but also working as Advisory Agency. The First Monitoring Committee Meeting of the Centre for Advanced Research in Indian System of Medicine (CARISM) was held on 27th November 2004 at SASTRA University. Prof. Dr. G. Victor Rajamanickam placed before the committee the long term objectives and goals of CARISM. The following members participated and gave their suggestions for the betterment of CARISM.   

 Dr. Vasantha Muthusamy,
 New Delhi
 Dr. Ramesh
 Technical Nominee
  M/s. Citadel Fine Pharmaceuticals
  Velacherry, Chennai – 600 042
 Dr. G. P. Dubey
 Emeritus Professor-SASTRA
 Ex-Dean Ayurveda of BHU
 B29/10, Nandigram
 Lanka, Varanasi- 221 005
 Dr. Aruna Agarwal
 Center for Psychosomatic and
 Biofeedback Medicine
 Banaras Hindu University
 Varanasi - 221 005
 Dr. S. K. Sharma
 Department of AYUSH
 Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
 Government of India
 New Delhi – 110 001
 Dr. G. J. Samathanam
 Drugs and Pharmaceuticals Division
 Department of Science & Technology
 New Delhi – 110 016
 Dr. B. Suresh, M.Pharm., Ph.D.
 J.S.S college of Pharmacy
 P.B.No.20, “Rocklands”
 Ootacamund – 643 001
 Dr. S. Narendran, M.S., Ph.D.
 Professor of Surgery
 Thanjavur Medical College
 Thanjavur – 613 004
 Dr. A. Saraswathy
 Assistant Director In-Charge
 Captain Srinivasa Murti Drug Research
 Institute for Ayurveda (SMDRI)
 Arumbakkam, Chennai – 600 106
 Shri S.Vaidyasubramaniam
 Dean, Planning & Development
 SASTRA University
 Thanjavur – 613 402
 Dr. K. S. Gopalakrishnan
 Dept of Chemistry
 Manonmaniam Sundaranar University
 Abishekhapatti – 627 012
 Dr. S.N.Srivastava
 SASTRA University
 Thanjavur – 613 402

The Second Monitoring Committee Meet of the Centre was held at Hotel Aaditya, Chennai, on 28th May 2005 along with special invitees to discuss about the prospective plan to expand CARISM in the next decade.

Funding Agencies
>> Drugs & Pharmaceuticals Division, Department of Science & Technology
>> Department of AYUSH
>> CHARAK Division, Defence Research & Development Organization (DRDO),
    New Delhi.

Many industries as shown below have initiated the collaborative research.
>> M/s Citadel Aurobindo Biotech Ltd., Chennai
>> M/s Orchid Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Chennai
>> M/s Vedic Drugs Pvt Ltd, Bangalore
>> M/s Tulsi Ayurvedic Products & Research Pvt Ltd, Bhadohi, U.P

Moreover, the following industries have entrusted their products to investigate and prepare the safety profile and estimate the level of metal concentration in their products including the metal toxicity studies. They are as follows:
(1) Evernova Health products Pvt. Ltd., Bombay,
(2) Trinity Pharmaceuticals, Thrissur,
(3) Rohini Global, Chennai,
(4) Shree Dhootapapeshwar Ltd., Panvel, and
(5) M/s Lakshmi Seva Sangham, Siddha and Ayurveda Pharmacy, Dindigul.
(6) M/s Arvind Remedies Ltd, Chennai.
(7) M/s Vedic Life Sciences, Mumbai

(8) M/s Alathur Pharmaceuticals Manufacturing Association (APMA)

Academic Institutions
>> Center for Psychosomatic and Biofeedback Medicine, Banaras Hindu
    University, Varanasi.
>> Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore.
>> Boston Medical Centre, Boston
>> Centre for Geotechnology, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli.
>> Department of Pharmacology, Dr.ALM Post-Graduate Institute of Basic
    Medical Sciences, Madras University, Chennai.
>> Alagappa University, Karaikkudi.
>> Tamil University, Thanjavur
>> Thanjavur Medical College, Thanjavur
>> National Institute of Oceanography (NIO)
>> Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee
Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS), Hyderabad.